Last HIIT session before Tarawera

This past Wednesday’s HIIT session was not a fun one. It didn’t help that I wasn’t looking forward to it before I even began. It was raining, windy and stormy, you couldn’t see the hills there was so much cloud. I was tired and had gotten so used to doing my interval/speed sessions at lunch time, I didn’t feel like doing it after work! Especially not after consuming a glass of bubbles at a work function just before.

But rather than saying “It’s ok Jen just go home the weather sucks” I knew I had to say “No Jen…Tarawera is in 10 days, you can’t get complacent now, every bit counts, there is a purpose to this session and if you don’t do well on the day you will only have yourself to blame.”

So I made myself go. I guilt tripped myself.

Then Greig told us that we were doing 4x500m, with 60 seconds rest between each, followed up a run as hard as we could all the way to the top of Mount Victoria (the scenic route).  We could then cruise back down and finish with another 4x500m.

At that point I thought “I really should have gone home.”   But I couldn’t…I was there, others were there, he gave me a pat on the back and it began.

IMG_0761

The view of Mt Victoria from HealthFit on Wednesday night – no visibility whatsoever!

The dreaded 500m repeats – they were actually pretty great! I hadn’t run in three days, and while I had done lower body strength stuff, I had gone for a sports massage on Monday from Back To It with the Amazing Alice and she had made my legs feel incredibly refreshed and rejuvenated.  So Wednesday night my legs felt fresh and free, and the repeats were great! Funny how beforehand I was dreading them, but during them I was loving it! I probably didn’t push myself as hard as I could have…but each time running around the building I felt strong.  I also kept up with/got in front of Liz, who is an amazing runner, super speedy and great at 5km and 10km events, someone I usually keep up with to begin with then fall behind, so it was a really nice feeling to be coming ahead of her at the finish of each.  (To Liz’s credit she said she was on antibiotics…but my brain chose to ignore that on Wednesday).

My repeats ended up being 2:01, 1:50, 1:53 and 1:51 – 22 seconds per 100m, and times that I am pretty happy with given I was probably only pushing at 90%.

Looking back through my Garmin times, I did 500m repeats in August 2015, with times of 2:00, 1:54, 1:57, 1:56, 1:56, and in December 2015 (one month ago) my 500m repeats at the same spot were all between 1:57 and 2:03.  So Wednesday was great – comparatively I was flying, and it felt like it too!

But that wasn’t the end of it…our 500m repeats were over and to Mt Vic it was.  This was the bit I wasn’t looking forward to – Every time I have run up and down Mt Vic, I had calf pain, IT band pain, or needed to stop and walk portions because I didn’t feel fit enough.  But this time round, I ran the entire way.  It sucked.  I didn’t want to do it.  It was raining. I was hot. We were running essentially in the cloud.  I was thirsty.  But I thought “If you can’t do this Jen, there is no way you can do Tarawera.  Seriously, stop being a wuss!”

So I did it.  I made myself run the whole way.  Despite my brain saying “no”, “this is stupid” and “why are you doing this to me” I kept going.  And got to the top – ran to the top of Mt Vic to the lookout – to be greeted by no view whatsoever – just cloud.  But hey, I did it, as did the others.  It was great to get up there and have a rest, pat others on the back and say well done, before making our way back down the hill.  And it was a pretty solid run (Garmin data available here), average pace of 6:29 (I took it slower than normal coming down as I have had a tight IT band in the past few weeks).

Mt Vic copy

The Mount Victoria portion of Wednesday – 6.5km from HealthFit, to the lookout and back down. SO HUMID.

Lucky for me, that took us past 7pm, which meant that I was late for yoga and had no time to do another 4 500m repeats…I almost wish I had done one or two though to see how my legs were after the run up Mt Vic (an elevation gain of 207m).  I felt pretty happy after Mt Vic, because I didn’t walk, I didn’t have pain, and it reinforced in my mind that I can do this, I am ready and there has been purpose behind everything I have done to date.  Even tacking Mt Victoria on Wednesday night had a purpose – making sure I wasn’t getting too complacent with my ability, and to continue pushing myself mentally to get over the bad weather, get over my lack of drive and energy, and just push.

It also helped my Strava stats for January, bringing me to 139km for the month and a total elevation climb of 4,481 meters.  I have run more than 139km in a month before – when I was training for my first marathon in 2014.  Many people training for ultras will run MUCH more than 139km in a month, but remember it is my taper month, and I am also injury prone so spend more time in the gym and doing speed/strength work than just hitting the pavement.  But I don’t think I have EVER climbed 4,481 meters in a month – I used to avoid hills at all costs – hated them.  So that is epic.  That is three times the height of the Willis (Sears) Tower in Chicago! Almost as high as Mont Blanc! Now that, in itself, doing that in training (!) makes me so happy and proud.

IMG_0763.JPG

Speak Your Mind

