One month and counting

In exactly 1 month I am embarking on a mini-world trip. I say mini because I am only going to 3 continents (4 if you include New Zealand, where I depart from and which is my final destination), although it is definitely not “mini” in terms of where I am travelling to and my plans once I arrive! This trip has been my baby, the thing to get me through my 5th year of law school. Only 1 semester left. 4 months. 3 courses. Although those 3 courses may end up being 4 due to California Western having such an amazing choice of subjects that I cannot narrow it down to merely 3! Either way, this trip was the light at the end of the tunnel of my 15,000 word masters paper and my 5 years of straight study.

So in my months of planning my trip instead of writing my paper, I had to really narrow down my destinations to fit it all in. And to fit in with other people’s plans. Sadly I cannot do everything and see everyone, but I try my best. Malaysia will have to wait for another trip, as will regional Thailand and most of Europe. However Elle and I have a fantastic first month planned, and then Andy and I are currently working on our 2-3 weeks. Europe is also coming along, and the itinerary as booked so far (not so you can stalk me, but rather so you can stay in the loop with where I am, and if you are near, meet me!) is as follows (the photos are all Internet based – not from my travels, those will come!). Also if you want a different version of the trip, or Elle’s trip post our June 3 separation, you can view Elle’s blog here.

1 May, Elle and I leave Christchurch with a backpack full of everything I need for the next 3 months, and to start up in America (how on earth I am fitting this into a backpack that I am carrying on my back, I have no idea)

24 hours in Singapore – Chinatown, Orchard Road, Marina Bay Sands etc

2 May – Bali. Spend one full day in Kuta doing touristy things, having a beer at sunset on the beach, look at the shops, check out the clubs etc. Then one day up in Ubud, Legian, Seminyak – check out some other places outside of Kuta.

5 May – Jakarta. Relax, unwind by the pool, get Mexican food at Amigos, Italian at Toscanas, check out the bars in Kemang, check out the docks and the boats, and general non-tourist activities because Jakarta is not a very touristy place. Not in my mind at least.

8 May – Yogyakarta (ok this photo is one of mine!) Check out Malioboro and the copious amounts of batik (not that we have room in our bags to shop!) and then spend a full day at Borobudur and Prambanan, being tourist attractions in ourselves with pale skin – just wait Elle, just wait!

10 May – KL – never been, just a big city, but will be fun. We can check out the Petronas Twin Towers, Thean Hou Temple, Islamic Arts Museum, Chinatown etc. Ideas?

12 May – Siem Reap.


In between 12 May and 18 May, hoping to spend time in Sihanoukville and Phnom Penh (where we depart from).

18 May – Bangkok overnight very briefly.

19 May – Very early morning flight to Ha Noi.

22 May – Halong Bay and Bai Chai Harbour for a boat trip with rock climbing, caves etc

24 May – Hue. Imperial tombs, Thien Mu Pagoda, Perfume River

26 May – Hoi An. Get clothes made overnight (I WILL find room for these, may have to leave them at Dads though…) My Son (relics of the Cham civilisation). Cooking class perhaps even.

28 May – Nha Trang.

30 May – Ho Chi Minh. The central market, war museum, Paris square (yes the Notre Dam photo above IS in Vietnam), Cu Chi Tunnels, Chinatown, amazing restaurants and fooooooood. Mekong Delta and floating markets.

On 3 June, El leaves Vietnam to go to Bangkok, and the plan is that Andy will meet me and we will do the floating markets and everything on a 2 night tour. The very rough plan from there involves Laos and Indonesia:




Vientiane, Vang Vieng and Luang Prabang. The normal sightseeing stuff, PLUS some ziplining, kayaking, mountain biking and other crazy outdoor adventures. Also tubing in Vang Vieng (sorry rainforest), a sunset walk up Mt Phu Si (in Luang Prabang), and going to Luang Namtha for a cruise to the Thailand border, where we then go to Chiang Mai to fly to Indonesia.

Indonesia will then involve Jakarta again, the thousand islands (Pulau Seribu) and fingers crossed Sumatra where I am dying to visit.

From there, on 28 June, I fly to London and spend 2 weeks visiting my various relatives all across England, staying with them, catching up and remembering my childhood. I have a feeling that lots of cucumber sandwiches and tea will be involved, as will Granny’s chocolate cake (assuming Carol or Anne have the recipe, mine is in storage).

Around July 14, I am meeting Elle in Spain (Barcelona) to do a 2 week mini tour of Spain and possibly Portugal or Morocco, before I depart on 26 July for LAX, to reach my ‘final’ destination = San Diego, where I will be based for 4 months until at least December 16. I will then hopefully spend time in Texas with family and family friends, and check out the skifields in the States, and maybe even Canada if I truly get bored.

So there you have it. All rather daunting but so very very exciting.

3 thoughts on “One month and counting

    1. Jen Post author

      Thanks!! I can’t wait to start, but it is all rather overwhelming, with lots of destinations to fit into such a short period of time. But once I arrive in San Diego I will be able to relax, recoup, and explore!!

      Reply

Speak Your Mind

